OASIS Mailing List ArchivesView the OASIS mailing list archive below
or browse/search using MarkMail.


Help: OASIS Mailing Lists Help | MarkMail Help

announce message

[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [List Home]

Subject: OASIS Elects New Leaders to Board of Directors and Technical Advisory Board

OASIS Elects New Leaders to Board of Directors and Technical Advisory

Boston, MA, USA; 29 July 2003 -- OASIS, the international standards
organization, today announced the election of four members to its Board
of Directors. John Borras of the United Kingdom Office of e-Envoy and
Eduardo Gutentag of Sun Microsystems were elected and Jim Hughes of
Hewlett-Packard and Chris Kurt of Microsoft were re-elected by the OASIS
membership to provide business leadership to advance OASIS as a major
standards-setting body for Web services, e-business security and other

Borras, Gutentag, Hughes, and Kurt join existing directors whose seats
expire in 2004, Edward Cobb of BEA, Colin Evans of Intel, Patrick Gannon
of OASIS, and Laura Walker of The Federal Reserve System. Each director
serves two-year terms.

The consortium also announced the appointment of four new members to the
OASIS Technical Advisory Board (TAB), a group of industry experts who
provide guidance on issues related to strategy, process,
interoperability, and scope of OASIS technical work. New OASIS TAB
representatives include William Cox, Ph.D. of BEA Systems, Christopher
Ferris of IBM, Timothy Moses, Ph.D. of Entrust, and Peter Wenzel of

"We had an unprecedented number of exceptionally qualified candidates
for this year's Board election; testimony to the fact that OASIS has
become one of the most important independent standards development
organizations," noted Colin Evans of Intel, chair of the OASIS Board of
Directors. "Most often identified with programs such as ebXML and UBL
for e-commerce, and UDDI for directories, OASIS and its members are
rapidly expanding its scope to Web services standards and vertical
community initiatives."

On behalf of the OASIS membership, Patrick Gannon, president and CEO of
OASIS, expressed appreciation for departing Board members, Simon
Nicholson of Sun Microsystems and Michael Weiner of IBM, for their
outstanding leadership and guidance over the past two years.

About OASIS (http://www.oasis-open.org):
OASIS (Organization for the Advancement of Structured Information
Standards) is a not-for-profit, global consortium that drives the
development, convergence, and adoption of e-business standards. Members
themselves set the OASIS technical agenda, using a lightweight, open
process expressly designed to promote industry consensus and unite
disparate efforts. OASIS produces worldwide standards for security, Web
services, conformance, business transactions, electronic publishing,
topic maps and interoperability within and between marketplaces. Founded
in 1993, OASIS has more than 2,000 participants representing over 600
organizations and individual members in 100 countries.

Press contact:
Carol Geyer
Director of Communications
OASIS (www.oasis-open.org)
+1.978.667.5115 x209

[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [List Home]