OASIS Mailing List ArchivesView the OASIS mailing list archive below
or browse/search using MarkMail.


Help: OASIS Mailing Lists Help | MarkMail Help

announce message

[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [List Home]

Subject: WS-I Steering Committee annual Nominations and Election Process now open

OASIS members:

Five seats serving a two-year term on the OASIS WS-I Member Section
(MS) [1] Steering Committee are open for nomination. The seats
expiring this year are held by Joel Fleck (HP), Jeff Mischkinsky
(Oracle), Marin Raepple (SAP), Prasad Yendluri (Software AG), and Ram
Jeyaraman(Microsoft).  The five winners of the election will join Mike
DeNicola (Fujitsu), Doug Davis (IBM), and Micah Hainline (Asynchrony
Solutions) and Gershon Janssen who will all serve until December 2013.

Any WS-I MS participant may make nominations to the Steering
Committee. However, only Member Section Members may be a candidate and
nominees employed by organizations already represented on the WS-I
Steering Committee are not eligible.  If you aren't currently active
in theWS-I Member Section [2], now is a great time to join. The
process to join is simple but it must be completed during the
nomination period. Send an email to member-services@oasis-open.org
stating your intent to join the WS-I MS.


Nominations will be held 27 November - 11 December 2012
The election will be held 12 December - 28 December 2012

Both the Nomination and Election periods may be extended in order to
afford the broadest participation on the process.  The details may be
found in Section 5.5 of the Member Section Policy [3].


Any WS-I MS participant may nominate a candidate via email
to:nominations@oasis-open.org; please state WS-I SC nomination' in the
subject line.

 Prior to being confirmed as a candidate, each nominee must:

1. Accept the nomination

2. Confirm his/her ability to meet the time commitments of the
position (participation in a one hour teleconference each month,
promote the work of the Member Section, additional outreach activities
as needed);

3. Provide background information and a position statement describing
his/her qualifications and motivations for serving on the Steering
Committee; and

4. Be a WS-I Member Section Member.

If sufficient candidates are not identified by the nominations closing
date, the nomination period will be extended by two weeks.


The five new Steering Committee members will be selected by the MS
Qualified Electors, in a closed ballot. The ballot tabulation process
and quorum requirements are detailed in Section 5.5 of the Member
Section Policy
[3]. Results will be announced immediately after they are tabulated
and confirmed. Each WS-I MS Supporting Entity has one Qualified
Elector who casts the single vote on behalf of his/her organization.
Unless otherwise
designated, the organization's Primary Representative serves as the
Qualified Elector. The Primary Representative may defer the voting
member role to another employee member by sending an email to
member-services@oasis-open.org; any such change should be in place
before the ballot is cast.

The nomination and election procedures for the Steering Committee are
defined by the OASIS Member Section Policy [3] and the WS-I Member
Section Rules of Procedure [4].

We encourage all WS-I MS participants to consider serving on the
Steering Committee. Please contact (member-services@oasis-open.org)
with any questions you might have regarding this process.



[1] http://www.oasis-open.org/committees/tc_home.php?wg_abbrev=ws-i-ms

[2] https://www.oasis-open.org/committees/membership.php?wg_abbrev=ws-i-ms

[3] https://www.oasis-open.org/policies-guidelines/member-sections

[4] http://www.oasis-ws-i.org/rop

Scott McGrath

Tel +1 781-425-5073 x202
Fax +1 781-425-5072

Follow OASIS on:
LinkedIn:    http://linked.in/OASISopen
Twitter:        http://twitter.com/OASISopen
Facebook:  http://facebook.com/oasis.open

[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [List Home]