OASIS Mailing List ArchivesView the OASIS mailing list archive below
or browse/search using MarkMail.

 


Help: OASIS Mailing Lists Help | MarkMail Help

office message

[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [List Home]


Subject: Open Office XML Format TC Meeting Minutes 28 July 2003


MINUTES OF THE OASIS OPEN OFFICE XML FORMAT TC MEETING
JULY, THE 28TH, 2003, 3PM GMT  4PM GMT

Attendees
---------
Doug Alberg <doug.alberg@boeing.com>, Boeing
Michael Brauer <michael.brauer@sun.com>, Sun Microsystems
Patrick Durusau <pdurusau@emory.edu>, Society of Biblical Literature
Gary Edwards <garyedwards@yahoo.com>
Paul Grosso <pgrosso@arbortext.com>, Arbortext
Jason Harrop <jharrop@speedlegal.com>, SpeedLegal
Paul Langille <paul.langille@corel.com>, Corel
Tom Magliery <Tom.Magliery@corel.com>, Corel
Daniel Vogelheim <daniel.vogelheim@sun.com>, Sun Microsystems

Acceptance of Minutes of the July, the 21th meeting
---------------------------------------------------
- The attending TC members unanimously accepted the minutes.

Action Items
------------
- Phil Boutros: create proposal for unifying change tracking in text and 
table documents
   - in progress
- Paul Langille: additional chart format comparisons
   - in progress
- Paul Langille,Daniel Vogelheim: proposal for business charts
   - in progress
- Daniel Vogelheim: Proposal for naming/extensibility of chart and 
control types.
   - in progress
- Michael Brauer: Summary of style discussion that took place already.
   - done, see
      http://lists.oasis-open.org/archives/office/200307/msg00015.html


TC Membership
-------------
Phil Boutros has temporarily left the Open Office XML TC, but plans to 
join it again soon.

Votings
-------
The TC agreed to add a "concur" option to future e-mail votings. This 
option shall mean the the TC member concurs to the option that has got 
the most votes. The TC additionally agreed to schedule the voting close 
time to be at a weekend in the future.

Discussion of Work Package 8 Forms
----------------------------------
The TC unanimously agreed to the "Modified Forms Proposal" as described 
in http://lists.oasis-open.org/archives/office/200307/msg00008.html with 
the modification that the "form:formatted-text" element will not be 
removed from the schema.

Discussion of Work Package 5.1 Style Structure
----------------------------------------------
The TC unanimously agreed to keep the elements and attributes belonging 
to this work package unchanged.

Discussion of Work Package 5.2 Style Properties
-----------------------------------------------
The TC unanimously agreed to replace the <style:properties> element with 
a set of more specific elements like <style:text-properties>, 
<style:paragraph-properties> and so on, where each of these elements can 
only include formatting properties that are applied to text fragments, 
paragraphs, etc. This way, for instance a paragraph style 
(<style:style>) would include a <style:text-properties> and 
<style:paragraph-properties> element. The <style:text-properties> would 
include all formatting properties that are applied to a paragraph's 
text, while the <style:paragraph-properties> would include the 
properties that are applied to the paragraph itself. The main advantage 
of this solution is that a single attribute (for instance 
"fo:background-color") is sufficient even in cases where it can be 
applied to text and paragraphs simultaneously.

The TC further discussed the inclusion of fonts or font metrics into 
OASIS Open Office documents. Michael Brauer will collect some 
information regarding this topic.


New Action Items
----------------
- Michael Brauer: Collect information about including font information 
in OASIS Open Office documents.

Michael Brauer

OASIS Open Office XML format TC chair



[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [List Home]