OASIS Mailing List ArchivesView the OASIS mailing list archive below
or browse/search using MarkMail.


Help: OASIS Mailing Lists Help | MarkMail Help

office message

[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [List Home]

Subject: OASIS Open Document Format for Office Applications (OpenDocument) TC IPR Transition Ballot

To:  Those OASIS member voting representatives and individual members who are voting "TC Qualified Members" for the OASIS Open
Document Format for Office Applications (OpenDocument) TC

   As you probably know, OASIS adopted revisions to our IPR Policy effective on 15 April 2005.[1]  TCs formed before that date
continue to operate under the old ("legacy") policy.  However, they may convert to the new policy by making a "transition" under the
terms of the OASIS IPR Transition Policy ; [2], by the specific voting procedure described in the transition policy.

   The OASIS Open Document Format for Office Applications (OpenDocument) TC has notified OASIS staff that it successfully conducted
a Transition Request vote under the IPR Transition Policy, to select the "RF on Limited Terms" IPR Mode. It appears that over 50% of
the OASIS members represented by voting members of the Committee have signed the current membership agreement. Accordingly, I am
opening a Transition Approval Ballot, in which the primary representatives of all voting members of the committee may cast a ballot.
A list of the current TC voting members, as of the date of the Transition Request, is attached. In this ballot, which will run for
14 days, the TC Qualified Members [3] each may cast only a single vote. The ballot will allow for YES, NO, or ABSTAIN votes.
Approval of a Transition Approval Ballot requires (i)
a minimum of 50% of all TC Qualified Members to vote, (ii) no NO votes cast and (iii) one or more YES votes.

   The ballot has opened and can be seen at [4]. Please note, for organizational members, it is the primary OASIS representative who
votes, so if you are not a TC member, you may wish to consult your organizational's active TC members regarding this vote.

   We will notify the results to the OpenDocument TC list and the voting "TC
Qualified Members.


Mary McRae
Manager of TC Administration, OASIS
email: mary.mcrae@oasis-open.org

[1] http://www.oasis-open.org/who/intellectualproperty.php
[2] http://www.oasis-open.org/who/ipr/ipr_transition_policy.php
[3] http://www.oasis-open.org/apps/org/workgroup/office/members/roster.php
[3] In the transition policy, the "TC Qualified Members" who may vote in
this ballot are defined as:

 > either a TC Individual Voting Member or an OASIS Organizational Member 
 > that has at least one voting member in the TC at the time the TC Individual 
 > Voting Members approve the Transition Request and has signed the new 
 > Membership Agreement.

[4] http://www.oasis-open.org/apps/org/workgroup/voting/ballot.php?id=930

TC Voting Member          Qualified Member     Primary Representative
Michael Brauer               yes               Eduardo Gutentag
Lars Oppermann               yes
Florian Reuter               yes
Nathaniel Borenstein         yes               Michael Winters
Yue Ma                       yes
Robert Weir                  yes
Patrick Durusau              yes               Patrick Durusau
Open Document Foundation
Gary Edwards                 yes               Gary Edwards
David Faure                  yes               David Faure
Jody Goldberg                yes               Alan Clark

[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [List Home]