OASIS Mailing List ArchivesView the OASIS mailing list archive below
or browse/search using MarkMail.


Help: OASIS Mailing Lists Help | MarkMail Help

ubl-comment message

[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [Elist Home]

Subject: [ubl-comment] Minutes of the OASIS UBL Group Meeting, 2001.10.29-11.01


A meeting was held in Menlo Park on the afternoon of 29 October
2001 to wind up the business of the UBL Group.  The UBL Group was
an ad hoc organizing committee for people interested in creating
an OASIS Universal Business Language TC.

The membership status of the UBL Group as of the beginning of the
meeting was as follows (* = present at the meeting in Menlo Park):

   Voting members (fully supported the aims of the initiative as
   stated in UBL Group Resolution 2001.08-02):

         Sid Askary, Intalio <askary@intalio.com>
         Jim Blakeney, Vitria <jblakeney@vitria.com>
      *  Jon Bosak, Sun Microsystems <jon.bosak@sun.com>
      *  Adam Cheyer, VerticalNet <acheyer@verticalnet.com>
      *  Derek Coleman, RosettaNet <derek_coleman@hp.com>
         Mavis Cournane, CSW Informatics <mavis.cournane@csw.co.uk>
      *  Mark Crawford, LMI <mcrawford@lmi.org>
         John Evdemon, Vitria <jevdemon@vitria.com>
      *  Bill French, Contivo <bfrench@contivo.com>
      *  Matthew Gertner, Schemantix <matthew.gertner@schemantix.com>
      *  Bob Glushko, Commerce One <bob.glushko@commerceone.com>
      *  Arofan Gregory, Commerce One <arofan.gregory@commerceone.com>
      *  Eduardo Gutentag, Sun Microsystems <eduardo.gutentag@sun.com>
      *  Eve Maler, Sun Microsystems <eve.maler@sun.com>
      *  Garret Minakawa, Oracle <garret.minakawa@oracle.com>
         Duane Nickull, XMLGlobal <duane@xmlglobal.com>
      *  Sue Probert, Commerce One <sue.probert@commerceone.com>
      *  Lisa Seaburg, Commerce One <lisa.seaburg@commerceone.com>
      *  Gunther Stuhec, SAP <gunther.stuhec@sap.com>
         James Werner, Boeing <james.werner@pss.boeing.com>
         Lauren Wood, SoftQuad <lauren@softquad.com>

   Former members still supportive of the work who agreed to be
   moved to observer status after a quorum call 2001.10.18 so that
   we wouldn't encounter quorum problems during the wrap-up
   (thanks, folks):

      Mike Adcock, APACS <michael.adcock@apacs.org.uk>
      Thomas Becker, SAP <thomas.becker@sap.com>
      Paul Grosso, Arbortext <pgrosso@arbortext.com>
      Murray Maloney, Muzmo Communication <murray@muzmo.com>
      Karsten Riemer, Sun Microsystems <karsten.riemer@sun.com>
      Don Rudie <donrudie@att.net>
      Alan Stitzer, Marsh <alan.stitzer@marsh.com>
      Tim Thomasma, Ford <tthomasma@mediaone.net>
      Hermann Duengelhoef, SAP <hermann.josef.duengelhoef@sapmarkets.com>
      Elvira Wallis, SAPMarkets <elvira.wallis@sapmarkets.com>

   Former members moved to observer status by the chair due to
   lack of response or change of industry status:

      Gautom Bose, OneSupply <gbose@onesupply.com>
      Benjamin Brimhall, WebMethods <bbrimhall@webmethods.com>
      John Meyer, CommerceNet <jdmeyer@commerce.net>

In addition to the voting members in attendance noted above, the
following OASIS members were also present as observers:

   Eric Arnold <ericarnold@techknowledgedevelopment.com>
   Doug Bunting <dougb62@yahoo.com>
   Bill Burcham <bill_burcham@stercomm.com>
   Dave Carlson <dcarlson@ontogenics.com>
   Adam Cheyer <acheyer@verticalnet.com>
   Zachary Coffin <zcoffin@kpmg.com>
   Derek Coleman <derek_coleman@hp.com>
   Jeffery Eck <jeffery.eck@gxs.ge.com>
   Michael Jacobs <jacobs.michael@hq.navy.mil>
   David Lewis <david@perfect.com>
   Tim McGrath <tmcgrath@portcomm.com.au>
   Dale McKay <dmckay@logicon.com>
   Ron Kleinman <ron.kleinman@sun.com>
   Mike Rawlins <mike@rawlinsecconsulting.com>
   Marion Royal <marion.royal@gsa.gov>
   Arijit Sengupta <arijit.sengupta@oracle.com>
   Dean Sleeper <dsleeper@accessvia.com>
   Vinod Viswanathan <vinodv@pointgain.com>
   Peter Yim <yimpp@cim-oem.com>

The UBL Group heard from four committees it had appointed at its
last meeting 13-14 August 2001 in Montreal: a Planning Committee
chaired by Eve Maler; a Mapping Committee chaired by Tim McGrath;
a Policy on Intellectual Rights Committee chaired by Eduardo
Gutentag; and a Liaison Committee chaired by Jon Bosak.  We also
heard a status report on ebXML and the UN/CEFACT Core Components
Project.  These reports, together with the report of the UBL
Schema Committee meeting heard at the meeting in Montreal, were
taken as input by the OASIS UBL TC whose creation followed the UBL
Group meeting and can be found on the UBL TC web site at


Following committee reports, the UBL Group adjourned to the call
of the chair.

Respectfully submitted,

Jon Bosak
Chair, UBL Group
6 November 2001

[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [Elist Home]

Powered by eList eXpress LLC