OASIS Mailing List ArchivesView the OASIS mailing list archive below
or browse/search using MarkMail.


Help: OASIS Mailing Lists Help | MarkMail Help

announce message

[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [List Home]

Subject: eGov Member Section Steering Committee Nominations Now Open

Five seats on the OASIS eGov Member Section (MS) Steering Committee [1] are
up for election. Three seats, two seats serving two year terms and one seat
serving a one year term, are to be filled by current or past employees of
governmental or public administration entities that are OASIS AGA members
and two seats will be filled by any member of the Member Section. All eGov
MS participants are invited to nominate qualified candidates and/or serve on
the Steering Committee. If you aren't currently
active in the eGov Member Section, now is a great time to join.
The OASIS eGovernment Member Section (eGov MS) serves as a focal point for
discussions of governmental and public administration requirements for
e-business standardization. Bringing together representatives from global,
regional, national and local government agencies, the eGov MS provides a
platform for those who share a common interest in directing and
understanding the impact of open standards on the public sector.
The nomination and election procedures for the Steering
Committee is defined by the OASIS Member Section Policy [2] and the eGov
Member Section Rules of Procedure [3]. 
Any eGov MS participant [4] may nominate or be nominated as a candidate for
the Steering Committee. Any OASIS member may join the eGov MS [5]. The
process is simple but it must be completed during the nomination period to
submit a nomination.
Each eGov MS Supporting Entity has one Qualified Elector who casts the
single vote on behalf of his/her organization. Unless otherwise designated,
the organization's Primary Representative serves as the Qualified Elector.

The Primary Rep may defer the voting member role to another employee member
by sending an email to member-services@oasis-open.org; any such change
should be in place before the ballot is cast. 
Nominations will be held 12 -March -2012 through 02-April-2012
The election will be held 4-April-2012 through 18-April-2012 
Any eGov MS participant may nominate a candidate via email to:
Prior to being confirmed as a candidate, each nominee must: 
1. Accept the nomination;
2. Confirm his/her ability to meet the commitments of the position including
but not limited to:

~ Participate in 3-4 hours per month in meetings
~ Prepare and review related document
~ Participate actively in marketing and outreach for the eGOV MS 
~ Represent the Member Section at relevant meetings and events
3. Provide a simple statement of relevant experience and interest in eGOV
related matters with suggestions for improving the role of the MS.  
4. Be a participant in the eGov Member Section. 
The five new Steering Committee members will be selected by the eGov MS
Qualified Electors, using the Single Transferable Voting (STV) process -
Scottish Method [6]. STV considers each voter's ranked preference for
candidates, in order to more accurately reflect the wishes of the
We encourage all eGov participants to consider serving
on the Steering Committee. Please contact (member-services@oasis-open.org)
with any questions you might have regarding this process. 
[1] http://www.oasis-egov.org/steering-committee
[2] http://www.oasis-open.org/who/ms_policy.php   
[3] http://www.oasis-egov.org/RoP
[4] http://www.oasis-egov.org/members
[5] http://www.oasis-egov.org/join
[6] http://www.stv.govt.nz/stv/how.htm

Dee Schur
Senior Manager - Standards Advocate
OASIS: Advancing open standards for the information society
+1.781.425.5073 x211

[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [List Home]