OASIS Mailing List ArchivesView the OASIS mailing list archive below
or browse/search using MarkMail.


Help: OASIS Mailing Lists Help | MarkMail Help

mgmtprotocol message

[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [Elist Home]

Subject: [mgmtprotocol] OASIS TC Call For Participation: Management Protocol TC

A new OASIS technical committee is being formed. The OASIS Management
Protocol Technical Committee has been proposed by the following members
of OASIS: Andrea Westerinen, Cisco; Krishna Sankar, Cisco; Dick
Spellman, Sun; Anand Akela, HP; Srinivas Vadhri, CommerceOne; Aravinda
Gollapudi, Verisign; Dennis Ho, Iona; Jim Willits, HP; Robert Baafi,
Iona; and Winston Bumpus, Novell.

The proposal for a new TC meets the requirements of the OASIS TC Process
(see http://www.oasis-open.org/committees/process.shtml#sec1c), and is
appended to this message. The proposal, which includes a statement of
purpose, list of deliverables, and proposed schedule, will constitute
the TC's charter. The TC Process allows these items to be clarified
(revised) by the TC members; such clarifications (revisions), as well as
submissions of technology for consideration by the TC and the beginning
of technical discussions, may occur no sooner than the TC's first

To become a member of this new TC you must 1) be an employee of an OASIS
member organization or an Individual member of OASIS; 2) notify the TC
chair, Winston Bumpus (wbumpus@novell.com), of your intent to
participate at least 15 days prior to the first meeting; and 3)
participate in the first meeting on 31 July. You should also subscribe
to the TC's mail list. Note that membership in OASIS TCs is by
individual, and not by organization. You must be eligible for
participation at the time you time you notify the chair.

The private mail list mgmtprotocol@lists.oasis-open.org is for committee
discussions. TC members as well as any other interested OASIS members
should subscribe to the list by going to the mail list web page at
http://lists.oasis-open.org/ob/adm.pl, or by sending a message to
mgmtprotocol-request@lists.oasis-open.org with the word "subscribe" as
the body of the message. (Note that subscribing to the mail list does
not make you a member of the TC; to become a member you must contact the
TC chair as described in the preceeding paragraph.)

A public comment list mgmtprotocol-comment@lists.oasis-open.org will be
available for the public to make comments on the work of this TC; the
public may subscribe to this list by going to the mail list web page at
http://lists.oasis-open.org/ob/adm.pl, or by sending a message to
mgmtprotocol-comment-request@lists.oasis-open.org with the word
"subscribe" as the body of the message.

The archives of both of these mail lists are visible to the public at

Karl F. Best
OASIS - Director, Technical Operations
+1 978.667.5115 x206
karl.best@oasis-open.org  http://www.oasis-open.org

Proposal to Establish an OASIS Technical Committee

(i) Name of TC

Management Protocol Technical Committee

(ii) Statement of Purpose

The proposed initial scope of this committee will be to develop open
industry standard management protocols to provide a web-based mechanism
to monitor and control managed elements in a distributed environment
based on industry accepted management models, methods, and operations,
including, OMI, XML, SOAP, DMTF CIM, and DMTF CIM Operations

This work will help consolidate and deliver an industry standards
protocol for manageing desktops, services, and networks across an
enterprise or internet environments.

(iii) Deliverables & Dates

Management Protocol Specification, June 2003

(iv) Language TC Will Conduct Business

US English

(v) Date and Time of First Meeting

Conference Call July 31st 10am PDT

(vi) Meeting Schedule

Call every Wednesday 10am Pacific

(vii) Names and Email Address Committed to Schedule

Andrea Westerinen, andreaw@cisco.com, Cisco
Krishna Sankar, ksankar@cisco.com, Cisco
Dick Spellman, richard.spellman@sun.com, Sun
Anand Akela, anand_akela@hp.com, HP
Srinivas Vadhri, Srinivas.Vadhri@commerceone.com, CommerceOne
Aravinda Gollapudi, agollapudi@verisign.com, Verisign
Dennis Ho, Dennis.Ho@iona.com, Iona
Jim Willits, jim_willits@hp.com, HP
Robert Baafi, Bob.Baafi@iona.com, Iona
Winston Bumpus, wbumpus@novell.com, Novell

(viii)Name of TC Chair

Winston Bumpus - Novell, Inc.

(ix) Phone Conference Sponsor

Winston Bumpus - Novell, Inc.

[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [Elist Home]

Powered by eList eXpress LLC