OASIS Mailing List ArchivesView the OASIS mailing list archive below
or browse/search using MarkMail.

 


Help: OASIS Mailing Lists Help | MarkMail Help

oasis-charter-discuss message

[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [List Home]


Subject: RE: WSS-M Charter


Update to add Anil and Thomas who also support this proposal

 

From: Anthony Nadalin
Sent: Friday, August 27, 2010 8:03 AM
To: tc-admin@oasis-open.org; 'oasis-charter-discuss@lists.oasis-open.org'; Mary McRae (mary.mcrae@oasis-open.org)
Subject: FW: WSS-M Charter

 

Adding TC-Admin and OASIS Charter Discussion List

 

From: Anthony Nadalin
Sent: Friday, August 27, 2010 7:59 AM
To: 'Mary McRae'
Cc: Monica Martin
Subject: WSS-M Charter

 

Mary, here is the updated charter, and questions or concerns please let me know

Draft Charter for WSS-M TC

(1)(a) TC Name.
Web Services Security Maintenance (WSS-M) TC

(1)(b) Purpose.
The purpose of this TC is to perform ongoing maintenance on the OASIS Standards of Web Services Security 1.1 and token profiles produced by the Web Services Security (WSS) TC, which is now closed. The work is defined as: any drafting or development work to modify the indicated OASIS Standards that (a) constitutes only error corrections, bug fixes or editorial formatting changes; and (b) does not add any new features, and (c) is within the scope of the Web Services Security TC that approved the OASIS Standard.  

The Web Services Security and token profiles [i] are:
	Web Services Security SOAP Message Security 1.1
	Web Services Security Kerberos Token Profile 1.1
	Web Services Security Rights Expression Language (REL) Token Profile 1.1
	Web Services Security SAML Token Profile 1.1
	Web Services Security SOAP Message with Attachments (SwA) Profile 1.1
	Web Services Security Username Token Profile 1.1
	Web Services Security X.509 Certificate Token Profile 1.1

(1)(c) Scope of Work.
The scope of the work is limited to the OASIS Standards for version 1.1 produced by the Web Services Security TC.

(1)(d) A list of deliverables, with projected completion dates.
1.	OASIS Standards incorporating Approved Errata or updated OASIS Standards to correct a number of currently known errors in the specifications to prepare for PAS Submission to ISO/IEC JTC 1. The goal is to produce Web Services Security 1.1 and token profiles as OASIS Standards incorporating Approved Errata. Projected completion is December 2010.
2.	Other future Approved Errata, OASIS Standards incorporating Approved Errata, or updated OASIS Standards as required to correct other errors reported by ISO/IEC JTC 1 or any other sources.

(1)(e) Specification of the IPR Mode under which the TC will operate.
Non-Assertion Covenant

(1)(f) The anticipated audience or users of the work.
Consumers of the version 1.1 OASIS Standards produced by the Web Services Security TC

(1)(g) The language in which the TC shall conduct business.
English

(2) Non-normative information regarding the startup of the TC, which includes:

(2)(a) Identification of similar or applicable work that is being done in other OASIS TCs or by other organizations.
None

(2)(b) The date, time, and location of the first meeting.
7 a.m., Wednesday, 29 September 2010 

(2)(c) Meeting schedule.
The TC will use email and teleconference calls to conduct its business. The TC will meet as needed, and start by convening every two weeks until the initial deliverable is complete. This schedule does not preclude F2F meetings if determined by the TC.

The TC will tentatively meet bi-weekly at 7 a.m. on Wednesday on a schedule that does not conflict with other related security OASIS TC groups.

(2)(d) The names, electronic mail addresses, and membership affiliations of at least Minimum Membership who support this proposal and are committed to the Charter and projected meeting schedule.
Hiroshi Yoshida, jikeitou-std-contact@ml.css.fujitsu.com, Fujitsu
Jacques Durand, jdurand@us.fujitsu.com, Fujitsu
Chris Ferris, chrisfer@us.ibm.com, IBM Corporation
Jeff Mischkinsky, jeff.mischkinsky@oracle.com, Oracle Corporation
Hal Lockhart, hal.lockhart@oracle.com, Oracle Corporation
Rich Levinson, rich.levinson@oracle.com, Oracle Corporation
Anthony Nadalin, tonynad@microsoft.com, Microsoft Corporation
Paul Cotton, paul.cotton@microsoft.com, Microsoft Corporation
Michael McIntosh, mmcintosh@acm.org, Individual Member
Peter Davis, peter.davis@neustar.biz, NeuStar, Inc.
Don Adams, dadams@tibco.com, Tibco Software Inc.
Carlo Milono, cmilono@tibco.com, Tibco Software Inc.
David Burke, dburke@tibco.com, Tibco Software Inc.
Mark Little, mlittle@redhat.com, Red Hat Inc.
Thomas Hardjono, hardjono@mit.edu, MIT
Anil Saldhana, anil.saldhana@redhat.com, Red Hat Inc.

(2)(e) For each OASIS Organizational Member listed in (2)(d), the name, electronic mail address, membership affiliation, and statement of support for the proposed Charter from the Primary Representative.
Hiroshi Yoshida, jikeitou-std-contact@ml.css.fujitsu.com, Fujitsu
"Submissions to international standard bodies such as ISO are increasingly strategic for OASIS and its 
members. Fujitsu is supporting a formal process in form of this new TC for maintaining and submitting 
Web Service Security standards to ISO/IEC JTC 1."

Dave Ings, ings@ca.ibm.com, IBM Corporation
"IBM strongly supports the production of a version of Web Services Security 1.1 and related 
token profiles suitable for a PAS submission to ISO/IEC JTC1." 

Martin Chapman, martin.chapman@oracle.com, Oracle Corporation
"Martin Chapman, (martin.chapman@oracle.com), as Oracle's Primary 
Representative to OASIS, supports the proposed WSS-M Charter."

Michael Champion, michael.champion@microsoft.com, Microsoft Corporation
"I, Michael Champion, primary representative for Microsoft, support the creation of the OASIS WSS-M TC 
using the proposed charter."

Peter Davis, peter.davis@neustar.biz, NeuStar, Inc. 
"Neustar supports the charter for the formation of the OASIS WS-Security Maintenance 
Technical Committee."

David Burke, dburke@tibco.com, Tibco Software Inc.
"As TIBCO Software Inc.s Primary Representative to OASIS, I, David Burke (dburke@tibco.com) fully support the formation and activities of the WSS-M TC under the proposed charter."

Mark Little, mlittle@redhat.com, Red Hat Inc.
"Red Hat is committed to open standards in general and particularly where they relate to security. We believe that the work planned by the WSS-M TC is extremely important and as such Red Hat is happy to participate and support this effort."

(2)(f) The name of the Convener who must be an Eligible Person.
Tony Nadalin, Microsoft

(2)(g) The name of the Member Section with which the TC intends to affiliate, if any.
None

(2)(h) Optionally, a list of contributions of existing technical work that the proposers anticipate will be made to this TC.
None

(2)(i) Optionally, a draft Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) document regarding the planned scope of the TC, for posting on the TC's website.
None

(2)(j) Optionally, a proposed working title and acronym for the specification(s) to be developed by the TC.
None
 
=========
End note:
[i]  Web Services Security Kerberos Token Profile 1.1-http://docs.oasis-open.org/wss/v1.1/wss-v1.1-spec-errata-os-KerberosTokenProfile.doc; Web Services Security Rights Expression Language (REL) Token Profile 1.1-http://docs.oasis-open.org/wss/v1.1/oasis-wss-rel-token-profile-1.1.pdf; Web Services Security SAML Token Profile 1.1 http://docs.oasis-open.org/wss/v1.1/wss-v1.1-spec-errata-os-SAMLTokenProfile.sxw;  Web Services Security SOAP Message with Attachments (SwA) Profile 1.1- http://docs.oasis-open.org/wss/v1.1/wss-v1.1-spec-errata-os-SwAProfile.sxw;  Web Services Security Username Token Profile 1.1- http://docs.oasis-open.org/wss/v1.1/wss-v1.1-spec-os-UsernameTokenProfile.pdf; Web Services Security SOAP Message Security 1.1- http://docs.oasis-open.org/wss/v1.1/wss-v1.1-spec-errata-os-SOAPMessageSecurity.doc; Web Services Security X509 Certificate Token Profile 1.1- http://docs.oasis-open.org/wss/v1.1/wss-v1.1-errata-os-x509TokenProfile.doc


END


[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [List Home]