OASIS Mailing List ArchivesView the OASIS mailing list archive below
or browse/search using MarkMail.


Help: OASIS Mailing Lists Help | MarkMail Help

obix message

[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [List Home]

Subject: oBIX TC IPR Transition Ballot

To: Those OASIS member voting representatives and individual members who are
voting "TC Qualified Members" for the oBIX TC
   As you probably know, OASIS adopted revisions to our IPR Policy effective on
15 April 2005.[1] TCs formed before that date continue to operate under the old
("legacy") policy. However, they may convert to the new policy by making a
"transition" under the terms of the OASIS IPR Transition Policy [2], by the
specific voting procedure described in the transition policy.
   The OASIS Open Building Information Exchange (oBIX) TC has notified OASIS
staff that it successfully conducted a Transition Request vote under the IPR
Transition Policy, to select the "RF on Limited Terms" IPR Mode. It appears that
over 50% of the OASIS members represented by voting members of the Committee
have signed the current membership agreement. Accordingly, I am opening a
Transition Approval Ballot, in which the primary representatives of all voting
members of the committee may cast a ballot. A list of the current TC voting
members, as of the date of the Transition Request, is attached. In this ballot,
which will run for 14 days, the TC Qualified Members [3] each may cast only a
single vote. The ballot will allow for YES, NO, or ABSTAIN votes. Approval of a
Transition Approval Ballot requires:
   (i) a minimum of 50% of all TC Qualified Members to vote,
   (ii) no NO votes cast, and
   (iii) one or more YES votes.
   The ballot has opened and can be seen at [4]. Please note, for organizational
members, it is the primary OASIS representative who votes, so if you are not a
TC member, you may wish to consult your organization's active TC members
regarding this vote.
   We will notify the results to the oBIX TC list and the voting "TC Qualified
Mary McRae
Manager of TC Administration, OASIS
email: mary.mcrae@oasis-open.org
[1] http://www.oasis-open.org/who/intellectualproperty.php 
[2] http://www.oasis-open.org/who/ipr/ipr_transition_policy.php 
[3] http://www.oasis-open.org/apps/org/workgroup/obix/members/roster.php
   In the transition policy, the "TC Qualified Members" who may vote in this
ballot are defined as:
"either a TC Individual Voting Member or an OASIS Organizational Member that has
at least one voting member in the TC at the time the TC Individual Voting
Members approve the Transition Request and has signed the new Membership
[4] http://www.oasis-open.org/apps/org/workgroup/voting/ballot.php?id=1061
TC Voting Member    Qualified Member    Primary Representative
Robert Dolin            yes             Vijay Chingra
Hirsch Electronics:
Rob Zivney              yes             Rob Zivney
Ron Ambrosio            yes             Michael Winters
Jeremy Roberts          yes             Ron Bernstein
David Richards          yes             David Richards
Brian Frank             yes             John Petze
Aaron Hansen            yes
Toby Considine          yes             Toby Considine
Individual/Associate Members:
Anto Budiardjo          yes             Anto Budiardjo
Paul Ehrlich            yes             Paul Ehrlich
Kenneth Wacks           yes             Kenneth Wacks

[Date Prev] | [Thread Prev] | [Thread Next] | [Date Next] -- [Date Index] | [Thread Index] | [List Home]